RSS

2012

03 Jan
Maya calendar

Maya calendar (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh, wow, it’s a long time since I’ve written anything on a blog, apart from the EToS blogs. Never mind, let’s just call this a fresh start. It’s 2012, right? A truely fateful year, if you believe those urban myths about the Mayan calendar. We’ll see about that in December. But 2011? Can’t say it was the best year of my life. It had several weird, dark moments as well as several weird, happy moments. But after all, the year went too quickly. Far too quickly.

What really scared me off last year was two of my dear friends having problems with their health. You usually think you live forever and all the people important to you are always going to be around you. I do it, anyway. Then, you suddenly realize it’s not that way at all. And realizing that changes you, just a tiny-winy bit, but it still changes you, slowly and unexpectedly. Or is it just a thing you face when you grow up? Could be.

Considering that.. How can I make this year better than 2011? Well, I’ve got a principle. It’s better to do things, fail at them and learn from the mistakes than to do nothing at all. A life with no mistakes is a live not worth living at all. I’m also trying to be true and honest to myself, which is one of the best principles in life. You can’t care of others if you don’t care of yourself. (Blahblahblah, insert more cliches here :D).

Anyway, 2012 is a fresh start for me. Living alone in a new apartment, life ahead of me, a single man. As for music… I want both of my my bands to archieve something. For EToS, I want the forthcoming album to be the best ever. And for the other band (which I still keep in secrecy for a while), I want it to finish a good-sounding demo. Writing new music and new lyrics isn’t always the easiest thing in the world, but when you succeed in it, it is the best thing you can do with your trousers (or pants, for you Americans) on, you know ;). Blood, sweat and tears, sometimes it’s almost literally all of those three things. So yeah, 2012 is going to be full of music and that’s the way I like it, babe, yeah :).

So, no resolutions on New Year‘s Eve. Just some guidelines on how to try to make the year better, as I’ve already written. And oh yeah: “eat less, do more exercise, spend less time online” and all that usual stuff. If everything goes “as planned” (yeah right, like I would ever have a plan?), I will be happier by the end of the year. Or at least I will have learned new things about life, love, the universe and everything.

Unless the world ends on the 21st of December. That would not be cool.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 3.1.2012 in In English, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
